The Four Noble Truths

Buddhism teaches the Four Noble Truths:

  • Life is sorrow.
  • Sorrow arises from desire.
  • We can be emancipated from desire.
  • Emancipation is attained by the Eightfold Path:
  • Right Views, Right Resolve, Right Speech, Right Conduct, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, and Right Concentration.

Each day, my dog reminds me to live without desire–that is, without wishing for things to be other than they are–and to be mindful of all the good that comes to me, no matter how small. What does your dog teach you?


5 responses to “The Four Noble Truths

  1. Hello! I just would wish to offer a huge thumbs up for that excellent information you’ve here during this post. I is going to be returning to your web site to get a lot more soon.

  2. My dog teaches me to be here now (and take him for a walk as often as possible). Walking rests my mind and brings fresh air, sun and a smell-a-thon for Sydney. We’ve never had a bad time on a walk. I find peace. He finds smelly stuff. I love watching him find bliss in a blade of grass.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s